What is Atlanta Metropolitan

What is Atlanta Metropolitan

Atlanta Georgia Skyline

The word metropolitan means a large city, its surrounding suburbs and other neighboring communities.

Atlanta Metropolitan can mean two differient things.

Atlanta Metropolitan Area refers to a cluster of counties and cities surrounding the city of Atlanta, Georgia. You may also hear this referenced as Metro Atlanta.

Atlanta Metropolitan College refers to a state college located along the Metropolitan Parkway in southwest Atlanta, Georgia. You may also hear this referenced as Atlanta Metro College.

Atlanta Metropolitan Areas

There are nearly 5.8 million people in the Atlanta Metropolitan area, which includes 29 counties around Atlanta, Georgia. Fulton county is the county that includes the city of Atlanta. Metro Atlanta is the most populated area in the state of Georgia, the ninth-largest metropolitan area in the United States and the sevententh largest in the world. Atlanta is the capital of the state of Georgia, the heart of the metropolitan area and the home of one of the world’s busiest international airports.

Atlanta Metropolitan Counties

According to U.S. Census Bureau, the population of the Atlanta Metropolitan area spreads across an area of 8,376 square miles which is a land area comparable to the size of Massachusetts.

The 29 counties of Atlanta metropolitan area are:

  1. Barrow
  2. Bartow
  3. Butts
  4. Carrol
  5. Cherokee
  6. Clayton
  7. Cobb
  8. Coweta
  9. Dawson
  10. DeKalb
  11. Douglas
  12. Fayette
  13. Forsyth
  14. Fulton (Includes the city of Atlanta)
  15. Gwinnett
  16. Haralson
  17. Heard
  18. Henry
  19. Jasper
  20. Lamar
  21. Meriwether
  22. Morgan
  23. Newton
  24. Paulding
  25. Pickens
  26. Pike
  27. Rockdale
  28. Spalding
  29. Walton

Atlanta Metropolitan State College

Atlanta Metropolitan State College (AMSC) is a state college within the University System of Georgia, United States. AMSC is one of the 28 public learning institutions with the the state of Georgia. This college was formerly named Atlanta Metropolitan College before they changed their name to include the word state. AMSC was originally a 2 year junior college and held their first classes in 1974. In 2011, Atlanta Metropolitan State College was approved as a state college to offer four year programs.

Atlanta Universities

The University System of Georgia (USG) is the State of Georgia Government Agency that includes 28 public institutions of higher learning universities and colleges within the state of Georgia. This system includes Atlanta Metropolitan State College. The three most widely known universities in Georgia are:

  1. University of Georgia (UGA)
  2. Georgia Institute of Technology (GA Tech)
  3. Georgia State University (GA State)

The University of Georgia (UGA) is the flagship university and Georgia’s oldest institution of higher learning.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *